=

Special

Barmer „MAKE LOVE, not LOUD“

Barmer „MAKE LOVE, not LOUD“

  • #Barmer
  • #interactive
  • #volume
  • #Grey
  • #gamification
  • #customsound
  • #website
  • #seriousgame
  • #health
  • #hearing
  • #ears
  • #rock
  • #punk
  • #poppunk
  • #poprock
  • #musicvideo

The project, “Make Love, not Loud” is an interactive hearing test, packed into a music video, during which the user decides how the story ends. The whole thing is controlled via four volume controls that change the storyline and the music in real time.

The project, “Make Love, not Loud” is an interactive hearing test, packed into a music video, during which the user decides how the story ends. The whole thing is controlled via four volume controls that change the storyline and the music in real time.

The focus here was on interactive music and gamification, and the challenge was to create a live and responsive sound design that harmonizes the content with the setting and helps a younger target audience to better understand the concept of volume in a surprising and entertaining way.
To achieve this, we composed four soundtracks, which were thematically matched to the concept and film idea. These soundtracks were different arrangements of the same rock song, which could be switched up at any point with one click and ranged from way too soft to way too loud!

From the very beginning, everything from the text, to the instruments, to the vocals and performance of the actors were planned as an overall concept. In order to give the music the necessary energy and credibility, everything was recorded live in different recording sessions. Through an on the spot casting of the musicians and our close collaboration with director Lars Timmermann, we were able to prepare the four tailor-made tracks for the video shoot and ensure that there was maximum interaction between music and film.

In post-production, we created a sound design that plays with different levels of intensity, through our use of distortion, wind noises, guitar and microphone feedback. This created strong tonal contrasts between the individual levels and numerous sound events, which are there for the listener to discover on every level. The result was an interactive music video, which explores the concept of volume in a new and innovative way.

=

Special

Barmer „MAKE LOVE, not LOUD“

Barmer „MAKE LOVE, not LOUD“

  • #Barmer
  • #interactive
  • #volume
  • #Grey
  • #gamification
  • #customsound
  • #website
  • #seriousgame
  • #health
  • #hearing
  • #ears
  • #rock
  • #punk
  • #poppunk
  • #poprock
  • #musicvideo

Das Projekt „Make Love, not Loud“ ist ein interaktiver Hörtest, verpackt in einem Musikvideo, bei dem der User selbst entscheidet, wie die Geschichte endet. Das Ganze geschieht über vier Lautstärkeregler, die Storyline und Musik in Echtzeit ändern.

Das Projekt „Make Love, not Loud“ ist ein interaktiver Hörtest, verpackt in einem Musikvideo, bei dem der User selbst entscheidet, wie die Geschichte endet. Das Ganze geschieht über vier Lautstärkeregler, die Storyline und Musik in Echtzeit ändern.

Interaktive Musik und Gamification stehen hier im Mittelpunkt. Dabei bestand die Herausforderung darin, eine klangliche Gestaltung zu konzipieren, die inhaltlich mit dem Setting harmoniert, live und unmittelbar anpassbar ist und einer jungen Zielgruppe das Thema Lautstärke auf eine überraschende und unterhaltsame Art und Weise näher bringt.
Zu diesem Zweck komponierten wir vier Soundtracks, die thematisch genau auf Konzept und Filmidee abgestimmt sind: Verschiedene Arrangements des gleichen Rock-Songs, per Klick zu jedem Zeitpunkt nahtlos umschaltbar – von viel zu leise bis viel zu laut!

Text, Instrumentierung, Gesang und Performance der Darsteller wurden von Anfang an als Gesamtkonzept geplant. Um der Musik die nötige Energie und Glaubhaftigkeit zu verleihen, wurde alles in verschiedenen Recording Sessions live eingespielt. Durch ein Punktcasting der Musiker und enge Zusammenarbeit mit dem Regisseur Lars Timmermann konnten wir die vier maßgeschneiderten Tracks bereits für den Dreh vorbereiten und so eine maximale Interaktion zwischen Musik und Film erreichen.

In der Postproduktion fertigten wir anschließend ein Sounddesign an, das die verschiedenen Intensitätsstufen durch Verzerrung, Windgeräusche, Gitarrenfeedback und ausfallende Mikrofone fühlbar macht. Starke klangliche Kontraste zwischen den einzelnen Stufen und abwechslungsreiche Soundevents, die es in jeder Stufe zu entdecken gilt, steigern dabei die Interaktion zwischen User und Video und so den Replay Value.
Heraus kam ein interaktives Musikvideo, das dem Thema Lautstärke auf eine ganz innovative Art und Weise Gehör verleiht.