=

Special

Daxophon „Save the Air“

Daxophon „Save the Air“

  • #daxophon
  • #ADAM
  • #instrument
  • #corporatesound
  • #air
  • #idiophon
  • #soundlogo
  • #research
  • #oneofakind

When we think of the air, we normally think about the quality of it, whether it’s clean or dirty, dry or humid, cold or warm. But, what does air actually sound like? We asked ourselves this question when ADAM — a specialist provider of air hygiene safety — asked us to develop a brand sound that had never been heard before for them.

When we think of the air, we normally think about the quality of it, whether it’s clean or dirty, dry or humid, cold or warm. But, what does air actually sound like? We asked ourselves this question when ADAM — a specialist provider of air hygiene safety — asked us to develop a brand sound that had never been heard before for them.

Of course, creating something that had never been heard before was the biggest challenge here, especially when you look at the history of sound designs for air. Typically, the same sound spectrum has been used across all audiovisual media, for all time.
So we had to reinvent the sound of air. Our idea was that if you can simulate pattering rain with the sound of bacon frying, then there must be some way to capture a completely original air sound in a new way. After spending a long time researching, we discovered an unusual and largely unknown instrument: the Daxophone! Although it’s not actually a wind instrument, to us it really sounds like the air might if it was talking to us. An unusual mix of sound and noise.

It took another two years to learn how to build the instrument and ultimately make it sound right for our work. Using different types of wood from all over the world, we created the sound lips, which create the sound with the so-called DAX and a bass bow.

With this completely new and totally unique sound palette, we started composing music and recorded films, web specials, telephone announcements and signal tones. The result was an unparalleled corporate sound that had never been heard before, which gives one of our most precious basic elements — air — the attention it deserves. ADAM — save the air.

=

Special

Daxophon „Save the Air“

Daxophon „Save the Air“

  • #daxophon
  • #ADAM
  • #instrument
  • #corporatesound
  • #air
  • #idiophon
  • #soundlogo
  • #research
  • #oneofakind

Wenn wir an Luft denken, denken wir vor allem an die Qualität von Luft: z.B. ob sie sauber oder schmutzig, trocken oder feucht, kalt oder warm ist. Aber, wie klingt Luft eigentlich? Diese Frage stellten wir uns, als ADAM – ein Spezialdienstleister für Luft-Hygiene-Sicherheit – uns bat, einen bisher noch ungehörten Markensound für sie zu entwickeln.

Wenn wir an Luft denken, denken wir vor allem an die Qualität von Luft: z.B. ob sie sauber oder schmutzig, trocken oder feucht, kalt oder warm ist. Aber, wie klingt Luft eigentlich? Diese Frage stellten wir uns, als ADAM – ein Spezialdienstleister für Luft-Hygiene-Sicherheit – uns bat, einen bisher noch ungehörten Markensound für sie zu entwickeln.

„Ungehört“: Das ist hier die größte Herausforderung. Denn wenn man sich mit der Historie von Sound-Designs für Luft beschäftigt, stellt man fest, dass dafür in audiovisuellen Medien ein immer gleiches Soundspektrum vorherrscht.
Also mussten wir den Klang von „Luft“ neu erfinden. Unser Gedanke: Wenn man prasselnden Regen mit gebratenem Speck simulieren kann, dann muss es doch auch etwas geben, das den ursprünglicheren Sound von „Luft“ auf eine neue Weise transportiert. Nach langer Recherche entdeckten wir ein ungewöhnliches und weitestgehend unbekanntes Instrument: das Daxophon! Obwohl es nicht mit Luft funktioniert, klingt es, als würde die „Luft“ zu uns sprechen. Eine ungewöhnliche Mischung aus Klang und Geräusch.

Es dauerte weitere zwei Jahre bis wir gelernt hatten, das Instrument zu bauen und letztendlich auch für unsere Zwecke zum Klingen zu bringen. Aus verschiedenen Hölzern aus aller Welt erstellten wir die Sound-Lippen, die mit dem sogenannten DAX und einem Bassbogen zum Tönen gebracht werden.

Mit dieser völlig neuen und einzigartigen Klangpalette gingen wir in die Musikkomposition und bespielten Filme, Webspecials, Telefonansagen und Signaltöne. Das Ergebnis: ein zuvor noch ungehörter und unvergleichlicher Corporate Sound, der eins unserer kostbarsten Grundelemente – „Luft“ – die Aufmerksamkeit verleiht, die sie benötigt. ADAM – save the air.